Location: 834 N. Woods Avenue
1927: Cottage Style
This 1927 home is described as an Irish country manor. Set on a one-quarter acre beautifully landscaped lot, the two-story house is rich in careful details and craftsmanship. The graceful countercurves of the building’s façade typify the overall fine design. A flag drive and imported street lamp contribute to the ambience. Fine interior details include hand rubbed wood and hammered copper fireplace hood, as well as hand crafted hinges and metal work which were the products of Fullerton’s first blacksmith.
The house was built for Raymond Starbuck, the son of William Starbuck. It replaced an earlier, smaller house owned by the same family.
The Starbuck family made significant contributions to the development of early Fullerton. Shortly after arriving in 1888, William Starbuck opened the first drug store, initially at Spadra Road (Harbor Blvd.) and Santa Fe Avenue and finally in the Chadbourne Building at the northwest corner of Harbor and Commonwealth. The Gem Pharmacy became the center of many downtown activities because of Starbuck’s enterprising nature. In addition to housing the drug store, the Gem Pharmacy was at various times the site of the post office with Starbuck as postmaster, the headquarters of Fullerton’s first fire department, the first undertaker office, the first telephone exchange, and the first lending library. William Starbuck later successfully petitioned for a Carnegie library for Fullerton, and he helped establish the Fullerton Union High School, serving as Trustee for 15 years.